Global postural reeducation (GPR)

How a poor posture can influence…your posture

Stiff neck, forward-thrust head, stooped back, hunched shoulders, bowed legs, and lumbar or cervical hyperlodosis are all signs of poor posture. Global postural reeducation (GPR) can correct postural problems because these problems are usually associated with muscle imbalances: a losing muscle working with a gaining muscle.

The gaining muscle is toned and stiff; the losing muscle is fibrous and has lost its contractility. When they're on either side of a joint, the muscular imbalance ends up unbalancing the joint. This is what is known as a joint injury. The result is a vicious circle caused by the muscle's influence on the joint and the articular derangement on the muscle.

Maintaining a poor posture in a recurrent or prolonged way activates the vicious circle of tension. Poor postures encourage muscle shortening (gaining muscles). If the muscles aren't subsequently stretched, the shortening persists and postural problems gradually appear. Pain can develop over time.

GPR treatments, based on the theory of muscular chains developed by Françoise Mézière in the seventies and later advanced by Philippe Souchard, tend to rebalance the muscles. Posture improves, mobility increases and the pain caused by an overly stiff musculature is reduced or eliminated.

For more information on GPR, visit

http://www.rpgquebec.ca/quoi.html

Rééducation postural globale (RPG)

Comment votre mauvaise posture peut influencer …votre posture?

Le cou raide, la tête en avant, le dos vouté, les épaules enroulées, les jambes arquées, l'hyperlordose lombaire ou cervicale sont tous des signes de mauvaise posture. La Rééducation Posturale Globale (RPG) peut corriger ces troubles posturaux car ils sont habituellement reliés à des déséquilibres musculaires : un muscle perdant- un muscle gagnant.

Le muscle gagnant est tonique et raide, le muscle perdant est fibreux et a perdu de la contractilité. Placés de chaque côté d'une articulation, ce déséquilibre musculaire met l'articulation en déséquilibre à son tour. C'est ce que l'on appelle une lésion articulaire. S'ensuit un cercle vicieux de l'influence musculaire sur l'articulaire et du dérangement articulaire sur le musculaire.

Maintenir une mauvaise posture de façon récurrente ou prolongée active le cercle vicieux des tensions. En fait, ces mauvaises postures favorisent le raccourcissement musculaire (muscles gagnants). Si les muscles ne sont pas étirés par la suite, le raccourcissement persiste et les troubles posturaux apparaissent graduellement, et la douleur peut apparaître avec le temps.

Les traitements en RPG tendent à rééquilibrer les muscles en utilisant la théorie des chaines musculaires développée par Mme Mézière dans les années '70 et perfectionnée par M. Philippe Souchard ensuite. La posture s'améliore, la mobilité s'améliore et la douleur causée par la musculature trop raide est réduite ou éliminée.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la RPG, visitez le

http://www.rpgquebec.ca/quoi.html